Scott Marlowe, fantasy author

Scott Marlowe

Author of the Alchemancer and Assassin Without a Name fantasy series

Night of Zealotry (A Tale of the Assassin Without a Name #3) is free on Amazon 9/11-9/15

Continuing with the rolling Assassin Without a Name sale, this week Night of Zealotry is free on Amazon. The sale runs from 9/11 – 9/15.

Night of Zealotry is really where the series begins to pick up the larger story. Consider Fine Wine and Killing the Dead introductory pieces. Still worthwhile reads, of course, especially if you got them for free as part of this promo, but I really start to entangle our witty assassin starting with this story. It’s longer than the first two tales, coming in at around 15,000 words or 60 pages (Amazon says 40; I use the standard 250 words/page to make my determination). You’ll be introduced to the Jakaree, the Warders, and the Progressives (read The Goddard Affair to find out more about them). Oh, of course, there’s also Elizabeth West, with whom our witty assassin was once involved. Liz brings a new set of skills to the table and a strong female presence, which readers have come to enjoy in my writing.

This should go without saying by now, but look for the next Assassin Without a Name story, The Goddard Affair, to go free this time next week. In the meantime, go download Night of Zealotry, give it a read, and (always appreciated) review it on Amazon, Goodreads, or your favorite web site.

Oh, one last thing. Remember to sign-up for my mailing list and I’ll send you the next, currently in-progress story, Thief’s Gambit, when it’s ready.

Thanks for stopping by and thanks for reading.

Side note: I’m also running a sale on The Five Elements. It’s just 99 cents on Amazon for a limited time.

Killing the Dead (Assassin Without a Name #2) is free on Amazon 9/4-9/8

As I not so subtly hinted at last week, Killing the Dead, the second Assassin Without a Name story, is now free on Amazon until 9/8.

The story is currently #1 in the SF/F – Kindle Short Read category and #833 overall.


Want to help push it a little further? Go download a free copy. Read it. Review it. Contact me with feedback to let me know if you like the series or not. Sign-up for my mailing list and I’ll send you the next, currently in-progress story, Thief’s Gambit, when it’s ready.

Then, this time next week, look for the next story in the series, Night of Zealotry, to come up free.

Side note: I’m also running a sale on The Five Elements and The Hall of the Wood. Each is 99 cents on Amazon for a limited time.

Some thoughts on Fine Wine (Assassin Without a Name #1)

This first appeared in the From the Author section on Amazon’s product page for Fine Wine.

Like any story, Fine Wine started with a simple idea: an assassin makes a deal. The story was a bit of an experiment, as I wanted to see if I could write something short. Like really, really short, while still telling a complete story. You see, I'd tried this in the past; every effort turned into a much longer work than what I had originally anticipated. Fine Wine, however, went as planned, taking all of an hour or so to get the first draft down.

In the process of writing the story I discovered a character I liked enough to want to revisit. So I wrote Killing the Dead, which was planned as a longer, more involved story meant to reveal a bit more about the character and the world he lives in. With the first two tales forming a base for the character, I decided to expand the series by introducing additional supporting characters, a number of organizations whose motives our witty assassin finds himself opposed to for one reason or another, and a diabolical plan which just might mean the end of everything the Assassin Without a Name holds dear. This larger direction starts with Night of Zealotry and continues into subsequent stories from there.

Each story is a tale unto itself, however, so no cliffhanger endings. While I want readers to come back for the next story, I also want them to leave with a sense of fulfillment. I know how some readers feel about serial style works; rest assured, the Assassin Without a Name series is not a collection of serials, but actual short stories and novellas, each with its own beginning and end.

Free Assassin Without a Name eBooks Available

I'd like to get some more reviews for my Assassin Without a Name shorts. Fine Wine has some, Killing the Dead a few, Night of Zealotry only one, and The Goddard Affair, which was just released, has none. To that end, I'm willing to give you, dear reader, a free copy of each eBook in exchange for a review. You can already download Fine Wine and Killing the Dead for free from your favorite online retailer. So here's the deal: Leave a review for one or both of those and I'll gladly send you a copy of the third story in the series, Night of Zealotry. Read and review that one and I'll send you a copy of The Goddard Affair. I'm still working on the next story, Thief's Gambit, but I'll send you that one when it's ready if you write a review for The Goddard Affair.

The only thing I need you to do is contact me with the link to your review and your email address so I can send you a download link for the next story. I won't use your email address for anything else, nor will I auto-add it to my regular mailing list. If you want to sign up for that, that's entirely up to you.

As for where you should leave your review, any online retailer, Goodreads, or your own blog or web site all work for me.

The Assassin Without a Name series is a fast-paced series of short stories featuring a witty assassin with a penchant for fine wine and a knack for getting in the middle of bad situations. They're a lot of fun to write and, hopefully, for others to read.